MIM Participates in the Pamilyang OFW-SME Network Foundation, Inc. Job Fair

Empowering the OFW & SME families through Information, Opportunities, and Benefits

 

Event Sponsor: Pamilyang OFW-SME Network Foundation, Inc.
Event: Pamaskong Handog sa Pamilyang OFWs at MSMEs
Held at: Megatrade 3 , SM Megamall , Mandaluyong City
Date: Dec. 27 & 28 – 2009
Time: 10am – 9pm 

MIM pawnshop Skills and Services was invited to the event by Maricris and Cristine – organizers of the Pamaskong Handog sa Pamilyang OFWs at MSMEs.  I was asked to share with the OFWs and SME families about my knowledge jewelry appraising and pawnshop operations. The foundations main purpose is to help upgrade the knowledge of the OFW families and SME (small and medium entrepreneurs) and encourage entrepreneurs of the community. During my presentation I gave away 10 free certificates for MIM’s  jewelery appraisal courses. 

The event was held last Dec.27 and 28 of 2009 at the Megatrade Hall 3,SM Megamall in Mandaluyong City. The event was set-up with participant’s booths in order for guests to make the rounds round and get brochures from different kinds of businesses that they would like to enter into. There were lots of participants present like COPE (Institute for Career opportunities & Programs for Empowerment, MORINGAlicious, Lins Refilling Station, MT Tutor Online (MTTO), Health Care’s Bio-healthcare, ULTIMA Entrepinoy Forum Center, MIM Pawnshop Skills and Services, and a lot more. Many Philippine newspapers like the Abante Tonite, Abante, Daily Inquirer, Manila Bulletin and more were also there. 

On the morning of the first day, December 27, 2009, my son Mark, his friend  and I set up the MIM pawnshop Skills and Services booth to be ready to distribute MIM’s brochures to interested people. The official event started singing the National Anthem and then the speakers presentations began. After each ones talk a there was a raffle draw from each participants and they are from time to time promote the business of the participants. 

I was the last speaker on Sunday  to my surprise the audience, even after listening to a full day of speakers, was very interested in what I had to say. I displayed to them some of the tools that i had brought and briefly explained some of the procedures I use to certify jewelry. During the talk I gave away 10 free MIM hands-on one- day courses that cover both gold appraisal  and diamond appraisal for which the participants will receive certificates. 

On the second day,  December 28th, I had a lot of interaction at my booth as the event’s participants strolled by. It was a great two days for MIM. I have had a lot of good feedback from the event and made some good contacts and I am excited about the upcoming training for those who won the free courses. 

I would like to thank the Pamilyang OFW-SME Network Foundation,Inc. for inviting me to attend.

Leave a Reply

